Three in the row for Hearts!

Cupar Hearts 1-1 Eastvale

Kingdom Caledonian League.

Saturday 19th May 2012

Cupar Hearts clinched the Kingdom Caledonian League Championship when a draw was enough to put them one point above nearest rivals Leven United and only a deficit of 5 goals or more would have stopped them regaining the title for the third season in a row. Poor weather had postponed this fixture a week earlier but warm sunshine was the order of the day. Hearts regulars Scott McInroy and Stephen Gilfillan were missing for this final fixture but manager Robson Sibanda was confident that his starting line up would do the business.

A fine volley by Barry Sibanda in the second minute flew just over the bar but for the next 15 minutes there was nothing to report. Former Hearts players Little and Beaumont were eager to impress but any efforts on goal were weak affairs except for one attempt just before the break when Eastvale’s number 11 powered in with a header but Steven McEwan skilfully tipped the ball over the ball.

Play was still cagey in the opening stages of the second half but the opening goal did come after 57 minutes. A good run by Cupar’s Stuart Nicoll finished with Reilly latching on to his neat pass and flicking the ball past Seath into the far corner. After 64 minutes play Cupar replaced Stephen Kane with David Rintoul but just one minute later the visitors found themselves back in the game. A low cross by Beaumont was turned into his own net by Tommy Halley leaving keeper Steven McEwan with no chance to prevent the ball crossing the line. Cupar introduced subs David Simpson and Stuart Beveridge as the half wore on and Eastvale’s number 7 had a glorious chance to score but he somehow fired well over the target. Then with 9 minutes remaining Barry Sibanda should have put the game to bed when he was clean through on goal but he blasted the ball high over. Three points eluded Cupar Hearts on the day but one point was enough to be crowned Champions and it was left to Captain Charles Anderson to raise the trophy high to the delight of the Hearts support.

Cupar Hearts: McEwan, Fraser, O’Leary, Anderson, Halley, Boylan, Kane, Crawford, Reilly, Sibanda, Nicoll, Simpson, Beveridge and Rintoul.