A hard fought victory against fellow league contenders sees Hearts up to 2nd.

Tuesday 10th May 2011.

Kingdom Caledonian League.

Cupar Hearts took a big step towards reclaiming the league championship on Tuesday when they travelled to face Rosyth Civil Service. The game started at a very fast pace and served up the best match of the season between two of the title contenders. Cupar found Rosyth ‘keeper Christopher McNab in his usual fine form but at the other end the visiting defence and goal stopper Steven McEwan produced an equally excellent performance. Both sides were evenly matched in the opening stages and on 20 minutes Cupar Hearts had an opportunity with a direct free kick but Barry Sibanda’s 25 yard effort was blocked by the defensive wall. The Hearts striker made amends after 32 minutes when he opened the scoring. A free kick was sent in by Neale Smith and then under pressure by the home ‘keeper Sibanda managed to glide a header into the roof of the net.

Moments after the restart Graeme Guild came close to equalising for Rosyth but his shot was a fraction wide. Soon after Cupar were gifted the second goal when Barry Sibanda chased what seemed to be a lost ball but a mix up between a Rosyth defender and his ‘keeper caused the ball to ricochet off Sibanda’s leg and roll into the empty net. Then to rub salt into Civil’s wounds Hearts went further in front one minute later.  A cross toward the home goal fell to Scott Pryde after ‘keeper McNab collided with his own player and Pryde made no mistake from close range. Cupar’s defence was finally breached on 77 minutes when Kevin Ferguson, unmarked headed home following a deep cross from the right. The home team kept pushing for a second to get themselves back into the game but the Hearts defence was resolute. With 8 minutes remaining the hero of the hour Barry Sibanda scored with a spectacular header following a corner kick by Garry Reilly to clinch a well deserved hat trick and a much deserved 3 points for Hearts.

Cupar Hearts: McEwan, Makein, Gilfillan, Anderson (C), McInroy, Smith, Nicoll, Boylan, O’Leary and Sibanda.